County List

The links to the County Seat, provides a bit of information from Descriptive and Statistical Gazetteer of the United States of America, written in 1840 it gives you an idea of how each of the counties and towns were growing at that time.  Over time I will finish the county seat list, but in the mean time, please check out the link above to the Gazetteer. If you would like to know more about AHGP, please click here. If you think a State or county would be to much for you, we have other projects, just push our button

County County seat Year Origin Coordinator
Adams Gettysburg 1800 Parts of York County.  
Allegheny Pittsburgh 1788 Parts of Washington and Westmoreland Counties.  
Armstrong Kittanning 1800 Parts of Allegheny, Lycoming, and Westmoreland Counties.  
Beaver Beaver 1800 Parts of Allegheny and Washington Counties.  
Bedford Bedford 1771 Parts of Cumberland County.
Berks Reading 1752 Parts of Chester, Lancaster and Philadelphia Counties.  
Blair Hollidaysburg 1846 Parts of Huntingdon and Bedford Counties.  
Bradford Towanda 1810 Parts of Luzerne and Lycoming Counties; Bradford County in 1812.  
Bucks Doylestown 1682 One of the original counties at the formation of Pennsylvania  
Butler Butler 1800 Parts of Allegheny County.  
Cambria Ebensburg 1804 Parts of Somerset and Huntingdon Counties.  
Cameron Emporium 1860 Parts of Clinton, Elk, McKean, and Potter Counties.  
Carbon Jim Thorpe 1843 Parts of Monroe and Northampton Counties.  
Centre Bellefonte 1800 Parts of Lycoming, Mifflin, Northumberland, and Huntingdon Counties.  
Chester   West Chester 1682 One of the original counties Dennis Partridge
Clarion Clarion 1839 Parts of Venango and Armstrong Counties.  
Clearfield Clearfield 1804 Parts of Lycoming and Huntingdon Counties  
Clinton Lock Haven 1839 Parts of Lycoming and Centre Counties.  
Columbia Bloomsburg 1813 Parts of Northumberland and Luzerne Counties.  
Crawford Meadville 1800 Parts of Allegheny County.  
Cumberland Carlisle 1750 Parts of Lancaster County.  
Dauphin Harrisburg 1785 Parts of Lancaster County.  
Delaware Media 1789 Parts of Chester County.  
Elk Ridgway 1843 Parts of Jefferson, McKean, and Clearfield Counties.  
Erie Erie 1800 Parts of Allegheny County; Until 1803.  
Fayette Uniontown 1783 Parts of Westmoreland County.  
Forest Tionesta 1848 Parts of Jefferson County; Until 1857.  
Franklin Chambersburg 1784 Parts of Cumberland County.  
Fulton McConnellsburg 1850 Parts of Bedford County.  
Greene Waynesburg 1796 Parts of Washington County.  
Huntingdon Huntingdon 1787 Parts of Bedford County.  
Indiana Indiana 1803 Parts of Lycoming and Westmoreland Counties; Until 1806.  
Jefferson Brookville 1804 Parts of Lycoming County. Until 1830.  
Juniata Mifflintown 1831 Parts of Mifflin County.  
Lackawanna Scranton 1878 Parts of Luzerne County.  
Lancaster Lancaster 1729 Parts of Chester County.  
Lawrence New Castle 1849 Parts of Beaver and Mercer Counties.  
Lebanon Lebanon 1813 Parts of Dauphin and Lancaster Counties.  
Lehigh Allentown 1812 Parts of Northampton County.  
Luzerne Wilkes-Barre 1786 Parts of Northumberland County.  
Lycoming Williamsport 1795 Parts of Northumberland County.  
McKean Smethport 1804 Parts of Lycoming County; Fully organized only in 1826.  
Mercer Mercer 1800 Parts of Allegheny County.  
Mifflin Lewistown 1789 Parts of Cumberland and Northumberland Counties. Sheryl McClure
Monroe Stroudsburg 1836 Parts of Pike and Northampton Counties.  
Montgomery Norristown 1784 Parts of Philadelphia County.  
Montour Danville 1850 Parts of Columbia County.  
Northampton Easton 1752 Parts of Bucks County.  
Northumberland Sunbury 1772 Parts of Lancaster, Berks, Bedford, Cumberland, and Northampton Counties.  
Perry Bloomfield 1820 Parts of Cumberland County.  
Philadelphia Philadelphia 1682 One of the original counties  
Pike Milford 1814 Parts of Wayne County.  
Potter Coudersport 1804 From Lycoming county. Organized until 1835.  
Schuylkill Pottsville 1811 Parts of Berks and Northampton Counties.  
Snyder Middleburg 1855 Parts of Union County.  
Somerset Somerset 1795 Parts of Bedford County.  
Sullivan Laporte 1847 Parts of Lycoming County, until 1848.  
Susquehanna Montrose 1810 Parts of Luzerne County, Until 1812.  
Tioga Wellsboro 1804 Parts of Lycoming County,Until 1812.  
Union Lewisburg 1813 Parts of Northumberland County.  
Venango Franklin 1800 Parts of Allegheny and Lycoming Counties; Until 1805.  
Warren Warren 1800 Parts of Allegheny and Lycoming counties; Organized in 1819.  
Washington Washington 1781 Parts of Westmoreland County.  
Wayne Honesdale 1798 Parts of Northampton County.  
Westmoreland Greensburg 1773 Parts of Bedford County.  
Wyoming Tunkhannock 1842 Parts of Luzerne County. Dana Valley
York York 1749 Parts of Lancaster County.  

AHGP Pennsylvania

Please Come Again!!

Back to AHGP

Copyright August ©2011 - 2016AHGP The American History and Genealogy Project.
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, do not copy their work

This web page was last updated.